When East meets West – Japaneese meets Jewish and Israeli food

Being veggie and kosher limits the amount of Japanese food I can sample (clearly not the sweet section…)    Last year our friends Takao and Mayoko introduced us to Mochi kinchaku: a little rice cake in a tofu-skin bag that looks like a little money sache’. Add it to hot soup – it gets all gooey and strangely enough very tasty…clearly as a Jew I had to have it with Kneidalach (matza balls) and being Israeli I had to try it with shkedei marak (soup nuts) if I have to choose which one I’d like to eat forever, it will have to be Kneidalach – I make some killer kneidalach!! If I say so myself…

Mochi Kinchaku with shkedei mark (soup nuts)

Mochi Kinchaku with kneidalach (maza balls)

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Food, Japanese, Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When East meets West – Japaneese meets Jewish and Israeli food

  1. Yiphat Kallush says:

    הניסוי הבא הוא בדיקת תגובות היפנים לאוכל ישראלי…
    וחוץ מזה אין כמו שקדי מרק וקניידלך!!!!!

Leave a Reply

